‘Squad’ Dems Do Not Want Killed Police Honored

Two members of the progressive collection known as “the Squad” were the only Democrats to vote against a resolution honoring fallen police officers and their families.

Reps. Rashida Tlaib and Cori Bush were the only members of the House to vote against the pro-law enforcement measure during Monday’s vote marking National Police Week.

‘Unwavering Solidarity’

The resolution, which passed with near-unanimous support from Republicans and Democrats, changed the title of H.R.363 to a resolution memorializing law enforcement personnel killed in the line of duty.

Its passage honored the 556 enforcement officers murdered in the line of duty.

This included 224 officers killed in 2022 and 332 officers murdered in previous decades, whose stories were recovered in 2022 while ensuring police have the resources and training to keep communities safe.

The Democrat-opposed amendment expressed “unwavering solidarity” for the police officers and “condolences and profound gratitude” for the families of fallen officers.

The resolution pledged the House of Representatives would recognize that police and other law enforcement personnel, particularly those who have made the greatest sacrifices, should be recognized, honored, and acknowledged as heroes.


Multiple “Squad” representatives have a track record of anti-police rhetoric. Surprisingly enough, Reps. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez, Ilhan Omar, and Ayanna Pressley voted in favor of the resolution.

Tlaib and Bush did not immediately explain why they voted contrary to the resolution, but they asserted on Tuesday that community safety is their “top priority.”

The Democrats issued a joint statement to defend their stance. They wrote that the amendment proposed by Republicans is not a referendum on a commitment to the safety of first responders.

It still remains unclear what exactly drove them to vote against a bill with such bipartisan support, especially in light of the vote happening during National Police Week.

Neither of the left-wing congresswomen has issued further statements on the matter.